top of page

THE WIFE LIE


One of the most twisty and shocking suspense novels I've read.

I first read Tuesday's Child and loved it so much that I read the whole thing out loud to my husband and me. So I had to pick up another book by Mora.

I love the way the author invests in Penny's, the main character, thoughts and emotions. It feels very intimate, like you're hanging out with a good friend. And Mora explores the very precious nature of a mother-child relationship so well that you just want to hold this family in your arms.

One problem: Penny should have not been okay with a couple situations she allows to happen--it isn't until the next chapter that she second-guesses her choices, but she should have recognized them as they happened, especially given the uncertainty of her situation.

I had a theory as to what happened to her husband and why he had a first wife and never told his current wife. I was wrong, way wrong. In fact, I never once saw the twists (plural) coming. Mora's execution of the narrative is effective and satisfying, and the whole story is really the clincher.

There is some language, but not for shock value, and outside of that, the book is clean. In fact, when you discover what Penny goes through, separate the truth from the lies, the way these horrible and shocking moments unravel, you can't help but admire Mora for her non-vengeance response. The ending of a novel is the real test if a book reaps its rewards, and Mora passes.

Surprising Themes: Understanding and gratitude.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page